McLendon Minority
Leadership Initiative

Make your success a part of our story.

Make your success a part of our story.

The McLendon Minority Postgraduate Scholarship winners each receive a $10,000 grant to be used towards postgraduate studies in athletics administration.

Through the support of the Fiesta Bowl’s endowment commitment to the Foundation, a John McLendon Minority Postgraduate Scholarship is awarded each year to a student associated with an Arizona-based four-year institution. In addition to the Fiesta Bowl, the National Association of Academic and Student-Athlete Development Professionals (N4A) has continued its sponsorship of two of the $10,000 scholarships. A portion of this contribution to the Foundation is in memory of Curtis Jones, former associate athletics director for academic support at West Virginia, who passed away suddenly in September 2013. Jones was a N4A Board Member at the time of his death.

Funding for the John McLendon Minority Postgraduate Scholarship has been provided in part by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA); the Cleveland Cavaliers; Major League Baseball (MLB); the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC); the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA); the National Basketball Association (NBA); the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA); Capital One; and Sears, Roebuck and Co.

As of the 2018-19 academic year, the John McLendon Minority Postgraduate Scholarship Program has awarded over 100 scholarships, totaling over $1 million.


All McLendon Scholars


Brianna Cassidy
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Nicholas Clark
Coastal Carolina University
Naomi Eastland
Northern Arizona University
Kiambra Griffin
Davidson College
Alexandra Holt
University of the Pacific
Victoria Larsen
Stanislaus State
Nicholas Mutebi
Wayne State University
Alex Shillow
Texas A&M University-Commerce


Hannah Alsup
Tennessee State University
Markel Leonard
Lewis & Clark College
Kenturah Orji
University of Georgia
Corrine Shigeta
Oregon State University
Travis Walker
Crown College
Andre'as Williams
The Ohio State University


Brett Bell
University of North Texas
Chardae Greenlee
University of Memphis
Javante Henderson
Indiana University
Mia Mazon
Arizona State University
Marissa Robinson
Kean University
Frances Rodriguez
Bowling Green State University


Rashard Hall
Clemson University
Gionna Jackson
Texas Tech University
Cornell Sneed
East Tennessee State University
Prentice Stone
Kennesaw State University
Makenzie Zinger
Cal State Bakersfield


Shannon Bustillos
University of Maryland
Toddrick Gotcher
Texas Tech University
Destiny Price
University of Texas at Arlington
Daniel Rodriguez
Washington State University
Alicia Whittle
Kennesaw State University


Shayla Bivins
Georgia Tech
Aaron Henderson
University of South Carolina
Evanna Howell
Winston-Salem State University
Joseph Watkins
North Carolina Central University
Matthew White
Indiana Tech


William Baggett
University of Mississippi
Dymond Bush
Hampton University
Jasmine Edwards
Rutgers University
Christopher Jones
North Carolina Central University
Faimie Kingsley
University of Denver
Tracie Sneed
Jacksonville University


Stephanie Baugh
University of Kansas
Orlando Gunn
Louisiana State University
Marcus Hilliard
University of Tennessee
Jacqueline Leung
University of Denver
Jaleesa Rhoden
University of Georgia


Eric Bailey
University of Oklahoma
Desron Dorset
Rutgers University
Katherine Hyland
Brown University
Simone Jackson
University of Texas Dallas
Sherraine Pencil
San Diego State University


Jamie Bouyer
Cleveland State University
Francie Ekwerekwu
University of Oklahoma
Ashley Hicks
University of Southern California
Tara Jackson
American University
Joshua Jones
Hampton University
Stephanie Orji
Cheyney University


Adrian Dowell
Roanoke College
Alise Maynard
Boston College
Jerryl Randolph
University of Central Florida
Zachary Selmon
Wake Forest University
Aileen Taylor
Ohio University
Natalie Welch
University of Tennessee


Keenan Blalark
Northern Illinois University
Alejandra Diaz-Calderon
University of Notre Dame
Keunta Miles
University of Central Florida
Araceli Ortiz
Stanford University
Carl Pendleton
University of Oklahoma


Dorian Burton II
New York University
Amber McCray
University of Florida
Alana McClanahan
Duquesne University
Tiffanne Ryan
Southeast Missouri State University
Darnell Smith
Oklahoma State University
Christina Wright
American University


Michelle Henke
Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo
Tiffany Mah
Arizona State University
Clint Manning
Limestone College
Kimberly Nguyen
University of Washington
Marcus Sedberry
University of Nebraska


Andrea Adame
Ashland University
Sherman Cartwright
Cleveland State University
Amin Elhassan
Arizona State University
Shamae Hemingway
Coker College
Vipin Motwani
University of Maryland
Corey Patterson
College of William & Mary


Roman Brown
Florida Gulf Coast University
Camensky Bryson
University of Memphis
Tiffany Bullard
Ohio State University
Adrienne Harris
Mount St. Mary's College of Maryland
Marcus James
University of Missouri
Noel Wadawu
Florida A&M University


Paige Benjamin
University of Washington
Adrien Harraway
University of Northern Iowa
Brian Moore
University of Georgia
Renee Sudduth
Baker University
Brandon Taylor
North Carolina A&T State


Uwadiae Airhiavbere
Brown University
Kendra Bracken
Purdue University
Joe Heskett
Iowa State University
Christopher Hope
Florida State University
Burt Iwata
University of Northern Colorado
Derrick Rackard
University of South Florida


Adebola Bamiduro
Barnard College
Harvey Davis
Mount St. Mary's College of Maryland
Martin Jarmond
University of North Carolina-Wilmington
Aprile Pritchet
Hampton University
Cobey Shoji
University of Michigan
Hajj Turner
University of Louisville


Nigel Burton
University of Washington
Danny Chocron
Florida State University
Jamila Demby
University of California-Davis
Carey Dorn
University of Connecticut
Kyle Johnsonn
Ithaca College
Tiffany Pickens-Boydn
Morgan State University